Steelers News

Steelers DE Cameron Heyward Wins The Chief Award For 2014

Pittsburgh Steelers defensive end Cameron Heyward was named Friday as the 2014 recipient of the annual Pro Football Writers’ “The Chief Award”, for his cooperation with local media.

“The Chief Award,” established in honor of Steelers’ founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and presented annually to the member of the Steelers’ organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media that Rooney did, is voted on by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America. It was first given out in 1988.

Heyward, who was selected by the Steelers in the first round of the 2011 NFL Draft out of Ohio State, has taken on more of a leadership role this season for the team. He’s very likeable and level-headed in the interviews that he gives and it’s no wonder that the media chose to honor him this year with “The Chief Award.”

This makes four straight seasons that a defensive player has one the award as Ike Taylor, Casey Hampton and James Farrior had won it the three previous years.

Heyward has registered 46 total tackles so far this season to go along with 6.5 sacks and three passes defensed.

Previous Winners Of The Chief Award

1988 – Dan Rooney
1989 – Dwayne Woodruff
1990 – Merril Hoge
1991 – Gerald Williams
1992 – Tunch Ilkin
1993 – D.J. Johnson
1994 – Rod Woodson
1995 – Levon Kirkland
1996 – Chad Brown
1997 – Darren Perry
1998 – Jerome Bettis
1999 – Lee Flowers
2000 – Jerome Bettis –
2001 – Lee Flowers
2002 – Hines Ward
2003 – Mike Logan
2004 – Jerome Bettis
2005 – Alan Faneca
2006 – Brett Keisel & Deshea Townsend
2007 – Alan Faneca
2008 – Ryan Clark
2009 – James Farrior
2010 – Ben Roethlisberger
2011 – James Farrior
2012 – Casey Hampton
2013 – Ike Taylor
2014- Cameron Heyward

To Top