Maurkice Pouncey Wins Steelers Ed Block Courage Award For 2012

ETA: The report below by Bires that Pouncey had won the award was incorrect as it was announced on Wednesday that Willie Colon won the 2012 award.

Mike Bires of the Beaver County Times reports via Twitter that Pittsburgh Steelers center Maurkice Pouncey has been named the teams\’ Ed Block Courage Award winner for the 2012 season as voted on by teammates for sportsmanship & courage.

The award is presented annually to a Steelers player who has fought back from an injury or tough situation to return to the field. According to the official website, the Ed Block Courage Awards honors those NFL players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The award is unique in that the recipients are selected solely by a vote of their teammates. Every fall all thirty two teams conduct a vote which results in each team selecting their Ed Block Courage Award recipient for the year.

The Steelers Pro Bowl center has fought off a left ankle injury that initially cost him a chance to play in Super Bowl XLV against the Green Bay Packers his rookie season. In addition, Pouncey also missed the Steelers AFC Wild Card game last year against the Denver Broncos as well because of his injured ankle.

The Steelers former first round draft pick ultimately had surgery on his ankle this past offseason and looks no worse for wear so far this season.

Last year tackle Max Starks won the team award and in 2010 it was defensive lineman Nick Eason who received the honor.

Below is the list of all of the Steelers players that have won the team award since its inception.

2011 Max Starks
2010 Nick Eason
2009 Aaron Smith
2008 Ryan Clark
2007 Ben Roethlisberger
2006 Travis Kirschke
2005 Casey Hampton
2004 Kendall Simmons
2003 Mike Logan
2002 Amos Zereoue
2001 Wayne Gandy
2000 Dermontti Dawson
1999 Chad Scott
1998 Tim Lester
1997 Mark Bruener
1996 Rod Woodson
1995 Jerry Olsavsky
1994 Charles Johnson
1993 Gary Jones
1992 Hardy Nickerson
1991 Mike Mularkey
1990 John Rienstra
1989 Keith Willis
1988 Greg Lloyd
1987 Dwayne Woodruff
1986 Gary Dunn
1985 Pete Rostosky
1984 Eric Williams

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!