Willie Colon, Not Maurkice Pouncey, Winner Of Steelers 2012 Ed Block Courage Award

Yesterday Mike Bires of the Beaver County Times reported that Pittsburgh Steelers center Maurkice Pouncey had been voted by the team as the 2012 winner of The Ed Block Courage Award, but it appears that report was incorrect as Mark Kaboly of the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review reports on Wednesday via Twitter that guard Willie Colon has won the yearly award, not Pouncey.

Colon certainly makes more sense as he missed the entire 2010 season with an Achilles injury and all but one game last season due to a torn triceps suffered against the Baltimore Ravens in the first game of the 2011 season.

Colon was moved from right tackle to left guard this season and has played every snap on offense thus far through the Steelers first three games this season. Last season it was left tackle Max Starks that won the award.

Below is the list of all of the Steelers players that have won the team award since its inception.

2012 Willie Colon
2011 Max Starks
2010 Nick Eason
2009 Aaron Smith
2008 Ryan Clark
2007 Ben Roethlisberger
2006 Travis Kirschke
2005 Casey Hampton
2004 Kendall Simmons
2003 Mike Logan
2002 Amos Zereoue
2001 Wayne Gandy
2000 Dermontti Dawson
1999 Chad Scott
1998 Tim Lester
1997 Mark Bruener
1996 Rod Woodson
1995 Jerry Olsavsky
1994 Charles Johnson
1993 Gary Jones
1992 Hardy Nickerson
1991 Mike Mularkey
1990 John Rienstra
1989 Keith Willis
1988 Greg Lloyd
1987 Dwayne Woodruff
1986 Gary Dunn
1985 Pete Rostosky
1984 Eric Williams

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!