Steelers News

Steelers S Troy Polamalu, WR Antonio Brown Voted To 2014 Pro Bowl

The NFL announced the rosters for the 2014 Pro Bowl on Friday and they include two Pittsburgh Steelers players as wide receiver Antonio Brown and safety Troy Polamalu were selected by fans, coaches and players.

For Polamalu, this is his eighth Pro Bowl selection. The veteran safety has registered 65 combined tackles this season to go along with two quarterback sacks, 11 passes defensed, two interceptions and five forced fumbles heading into the regular season finale. Polamalu has also managed to play every defensive snap this season for the Steelers after missing nine games last season with a calf injury.

For Brown, this is his second Pro Bowl selection as he last received the honors in 2011 when he made it as a punt returner. The Central Michigan product has already established career highs this season in receptions (101), receiving yards (1,412) and receiving touchdowns (8) and he recently became just the second receiver in franchise history to record 100 receptions in a single season, and his 1,412 receiving yards are a team record for a single season.

This will be the first year that the Pro Bowl will be “Unconferenced” and there will be a nationally televised draft that will take place on the NFL Network at 8 p.m. ET on Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2014. Pro Football Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will serve as alumni team captains for their respective squads.

Below are the players that were selected:



Peyton Manning, Broncos; Tom Brady, Patriots; Drew Brees, Saints; Cam Newton, Panthers; Philip Rivers, Chargers; Russell Wilson, Seahawks.

Wide receivers

Antonio Brown, Steelers; Dez Bryant, Cowboys; Josh Gordon, Browns; A.J. Green, Bengals; Andre Johnson, Texans; Calvin Johnson, Lions; Brandon Marshall, Bears; Demaryius Thomas, Broncos.


Branden Albert, Chiefs; Jason Peters, Eagles; Tyron Smith, Cowboys; Joe Staley, 49ers; Joe Thomas, Browns; Trent Williams, Redskins.


Jahri Evans, Saints; Ben Grubbs, Saints; Mike Iupati, 49ers; Logan Mankins, Patriots; Louis Vasquez, Broncos; Marshal Yanda, Ravens.


Ryan Kalil, Panthers; Alex Mack, Browns; Mike Pouncey, Dolphins; Max Unger, Seahawks. Tight end: Jordan Cameron, Browns; Vernon Davis, 49ers; Jimmy Graham, Saints; Julius Thomas, Broncos.

Running backs

Jamaal Charles, Chiefs; Matt Forte, Bears; Frank Gore, 49ers; Marshawn Lynch, Seahawks; LeSean McCoy, Eagles; Adrian Peterson, Vikings. Fullback: Marcel Reece, Raiders; Mike Tolbert, Panthers.


Defensive ends

Greg Hardy, Panthers; Cameron Jordan, Saints; Robert Quinn, Rams; Cameron Wake, Dolphins; J.J. Watt, Texans; Mario Williams, Bills.

Defensive linemen

Gerald McCoy, Buccaneers; Haloti Ngata, Ravens; Dontari Poe, Chiefs; Justin Smith, 49ers; Ndamukong Suh, Lions; Kyle Williams, Bills.

Outside linebackers

John Abraham, Cardinals; Ahmad Brooks, 49ers; Tamba Hali, Chiefs; Justin Houston, Chiefs; Robert Mathis, Colts; Terrell Suggs, Ravens.

Inside/middle linebackers

NaVorro Bowman, 49ers; Vontaze Burfict, Bengals; Luke Kuechly, Panthers; Patrick Willis, 49ers.


Brandon Flowers, Chiefs; Brent Grimes, Dolphins; Joe Haden, Browns; Patrick Peterson, Cardinals; Darrelle Revis, Buccaneers; Richard Sherman, Seahawks; Aqib Talib, Patriots; Alterraun Verner, Titans.

Free safeties

Jairus Byrd, Bills; Earl Thomas, Seahawks; Eric Weddle, Chargers.

Strong safeties

Troy Polamalu, Steelers; Eric Berry, Chiefs; Kam Chancellor, Seahawks.

Special Teams


Brandon Fields, Dolphins; Johnny Hekker, Rams.


Matt Prater, Broncos; Justin Tucker, Ravens.

Punt returner: Antonio Brown, Steelers; Dexter McCluster, Chiefs.

Special teamer: Justin Bethel, Cardinals; Matthew Slater, Patriots.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!