Steelers News

Steelers Rookie RB Le’Veon Bell Wins 2013 Joe Greene Great Performance Award

His season certainly didn’t get off to great start because of a foot injury suffered during the preseason, but rookie running back Le’Veon Bell progressed once he got on the field and as a result he has been named the Pittsburgh Steelers 2013 recipient of the “Joe Greene Great Performance Award” that is given annually to the outstanding rookie every year by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America.

Bell has rushed for 770 yards in 12 starts with seven touchdowns, and added 393 yards receiving. In the Sunday win over the Green Bay Packers, he registered his first career 100 yard game as he racked up 124 yards on the ground along with a touchdown late in the game that put the Steelers ahead for good.

After sitting out the first three games of the season with a sprained foot, Bell rushed for 57 yards in his regular season debut against the Minnesota Vikings in London, and scored two touchdowns, becoming the first rookie to rush for two touchdowns in a game since Bam Morris in 1994.

“It means a lot to win this,” Bell said after receiving award. “It’s a great award. I couldn’t have done it without my teammates, with the help of the offensive linemen and coaches. I am thankful for it. Hopefully I will continue to get better.

“And to win the award named after Joe Greene means everything to me. Meeting him was great, and winning an award named after him is the icing on the cake.”

Previous Winners Of The Joe Greene Great Performance Award
1984 – WR Louis Lipps
1985 – P Harry Newsome
1986 – LB Anthony Henton
1987 – CB Delton Hall
1988 – RB Warren Williams
1989 – SS Carnell Lake
1990 – TE Eric Green
1991 – TE Adrian Cooper
1992 – FS Darren Perry
1993 – LB Chad Brown
1994 – RB Bam Morris
1995 – QB Kordell Stewart
1996 – FB Jon Witman
1997 – CB Chad Scott –
1998 – OG Alan Faneca
1999 – WR Troy Edwards
2000 – FB Dan Kreider
2001 – LB Kendrell Bell
2002 – OG Kendall Simmons
2003 – S Troy Polamalu
2004 – QB Ben Roethlisberger
2005 – TE Heath Miller
2006 – WR Santonio Holmes
2007 – P Daniel Sepulveda
2008 – LB Patrick Bailey
2009 – WR Mike Wallace
2010 – C Maurkice Pouncey
2011 – OT Marcus Gilbert
2012 – OT Mike Adams

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!