Casey Hampton & Mike Adams Win 2012 PFWA Awards

Pittsburgh Steelers nose tackle Casey Hampton and tackle Mike Adams were named the 2012 recipients of the Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America’s annual awards.

Hampton was the recipient of the Pro Football Writers’ “The Chief Award”, which was established in honor of Steelers’ founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and presented annually to the member of the Steelers’ organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media.

Hampton, in his 12th NFL season, has started 163 career games at nose tackle for the Steelers during his career and has compiled 373 tackles, 9 sacks, 4 forced fumbles and 2 fumble recoveries.

Adams, the Steelers’ second round draft pick in 2012, was the winner of the “Joe Greene Great Performance Award”, given to the outstanding Steelers’ rookie. Adams has played in 10 games with 6 starts this season. The Steelers rookie has been sidelined the last several weeks with an ankle injury. This is the third straight season that an offensive lineman has won the award as Maurkice Pouncey won it in 2010 and Marcus Gilbert won it in 2011.

A listing of the previous award winners:

“The Chief Award” Winners:

1988    Dan Rooney

1989    Dwayne Woodruff

1990    Merril Hoge

1991    Gerald Williams

1992    Tunch Ilkin

1993    D.J. Johnson

1994    Rod Woodson

1995    Levon Kirkland

1996    Chad Brown

1997    Darren Perry

1998    Jerome Bettis

1999    Lee Flowers

2000    Jerome Bettis

2001    Lee Flowers

2002    Hines Ward

2003    Mike Logan

2004    Jerome Bettis

2005    Alan Faneca

2006    Brett Keisel

Deshea Townsend

2007    Alan Faneca

2008    Ryan Clark

2009    James Farrior

2010    Ben Roethlisberger

2011    James Farrior

“Joe Greene Great Performance Award” Winners:

1984    WR Louis Lipps

1985    P Harry Newsome

1986    LB Anthony Henton

1987    CB Delton Hall

1988    RB Warren Williams

1989    SS Carnell Lake

1990    TE Eric Green

1991    TE Adrian Cooper

1992    FS Darren Perry

1993    LB Chad Brown

1994    RB Bam Morris

1995    QB Kordell Stewart

1996    FB Jon Witman

1997    CB Chad Scott

1998    OG Alan Faneca

1999    WR Troy Edwards

2000    FB Dan Kreider

2001    LB Kendrell Bell

2002    OG Kendall Simmons

2003    S Troy Polamalu

2004    QB Ben Roethlisberger

2005    TE Heath Miller

2006    WR Santonio Holmes

2007    P Daniel Sepulveda

2008    LB Patrick Bailey

2009    WR Mike Wallace

2010    C Maurkice Pouncey

2011    OT Marcus Gilbert

To Top