Steelers Sign 8 Players To Practice Squad & Name Team Captains

A day after the Steelers trimmed down the roster the 53 players they announced the 8 player practice squad signings as well as the team captains. The eight practice squad players signed were running back John Clay, wide receiver Tyler Grisham, tight end Jamie McCoy, tackle Trevis Turner, center John Malecki, linebacker Mortty Ivy, defensive end Corbin Bryant and safety Da\’Mon Cromartie-Smith.

Hines Ward and Ben Roethlisberger were named offensive co-captains, James Farrior was named the defensive captain and Arnaz Battle was named the special teams captain.

The captains are selected through a vote of the team and it marks the seventh consecutive time as captain for Ward. Roethlisberger previously served as a co-captain with Ward in 2008 and 2009. This is also the eighth straight year that Farrior has been named a captain of the defense.

Grisham returns to the practice squad for a third and final time and Cromartie-Smith returns for his second year on the practice squad. Ivy and Bryant are not surprises after having strong preseasons.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!