Steelers News

Devin Bush Named Steelers’ 2019 Joe Greene Award Winner As Team’s Top Rookie

Devin Bush Interception

The results are now in and Pittsburgh Steelers inside linebacker Devin Bush is this year’s recipient of the “Joe Greene Great Performance Award”, presented annually by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America to the team’s top rookie.

Bush, who was drafted in the first-round this year by the Steelers out of Michigan, enters the final week of the 2019 regular season with 97 total tackles, 9 tackles for loss, two interceptions, one forced fumble and four fumble recoveries.

Bush enters the final week of the 2019 regular season with an impressive rookie season resume. He not only currently leads the Steelers in assisted tackles (36) and fumble recoveries (4), he also ranks second on the team in solo tackles (61) and total tackles (97). He also ranks tied for third on the team in interceptions (2) and fourth in tackles for loss (8).

Bush also enters Week 17 as the leader of all NFL rookies in total tackles and fumble recoveries, and also ranks second in assisted tackles, third in solo tackles, tied for third in interceptions and fourth in tackles for loss. His 97 total tackles are also the most by a Steelers rookie in franchise history.

Bush obviously beat out Steelers wide receiver Diontae Johnson for the annual Rookie of the Year award. Johnson, the Steelers first of two third-round draft picks this year out of Toledo, still had a very successful rookie season as he has registered 55 receptions for 626 yards and 5 touchdowns through 15 games played.

This now marks the second year in a row that a first-round draft pick has been named the Steelers top rookie as safety Terrell Edmunds was the team’s 2018 recipient. Bud Dupree was the last Steelers linebacker to win the award.

Joe Greene Great Performance Award” Winners:
1984 WR Louis Lipps
1985 P Harry Newsome
1986 LB Anthony Henton
1987 CB Delton Hall
1988 RB Warren Williams
1989 SS Carnell Lake
1990 TE Eric Green
1991 TE Adrian Cooper
1992 FS Darren Perry
1993 LB Chad Brown
1994 RB Bam Morris
1995 QB Kordell Stewart
1996 FB Jon Witman
1997 CB Chad Scott
1998 OG Alan Faneca
1999 WR Troy Edwards
2000 FB Dan Kreider
2001 LB Kendrell Bell
2002 OG Kendall Simmons
2003 S Troy Polamalu
2004 QB Ben Roethlisberger
2005 TE Heath Miller
2006 WR Santonio Holmes
2007 P Daniel Sepulveda
2008 LB Patrick Bailey
2009 WR Mike Wallace
2010 C Maurkice Pouncey
2011 OT Marcus Gilbert
2012 OT Mike Adams
2013 RB Le’Veon Bell
2014 WR Martavis Bryant
2015 LB Bud Dupree
2016 S Sean Davis
2017 WR JuJu Smith-Schuster
2018 S Terrell Edmunds
2019 LB Devin Bush
To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!