Steelers News

Ramon Foster Recipient Of 2015 The Chief Award

Ramon Foster has been awarded the Pittsburgh Steelers’ 2015 “The Chief Award,” for the player most friendly and accessible to the media.

Foster, the team’s NFLPA representative, is one of the most well-spoken players in the locker room. In addition to speaking after games, he’s done weekly radio spots on 93.7 The Fan.

He is the first Steelers’ offensive lineman to win the award since Alan Faneca in 2007. Cam Heyward was voted as last year’s winner, and continues to set a professional precedent with his relationship with reporters.

The Chief Award has been handed out since 1988. Dwayne Woodruff was the first player to earn it in 1989. Dan Rooney was elected in its inaugural year.

Foster has started all 15 games with the Steelers and recently played in his 100th career game. He’s been a steady player at left guard and though set to be a free agent at the end of the season, seems likely to return on a new deal. Not a bad story for a once undrafted player.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!