Steelers News

Steelers CB Ike Taylor Wins The Chief Award For 2013

There is never really a dull moment when veteran cornerback Ike Taylor talks to the media and on Tuesday he was named the Pittsburgh Steelers 2013 recipient of the annual Pro Football Writers’ “The Chief Award”, for his cooperation with local media.

Taylor, who was originally drafted by the Steelers in the fourth round of the 2003 NFL Draft out of Louisiana-Lafayette, has always been forthcoming and honest when he talks to the media. In addition, he never seems to be one to shy away from the media after having a bad game and is generally good for a sound clip or two a month that is sure to put a smile on your face.

When the team arrived in London prior to their game against the Minnesota Vikings, Taylor seemed to be a hit with the local media there. His weekly radio show is also usually good for a laugh or three.

“I understand what comes with the territory,” said Taylor upon receiving the award. “I understand where the reporters are coming from now that I have my own radio show. I take notes from them and understand what they are looking for and try to be available at all times.

“The radio show lets me know they have to write stories, they have to get their opinions out there, regardless of whether you like it or not. Talking to reporters good or bad comes with the territory.”

Taylor is still under contract for 2014, but there is an outside chance he could be released during the offseason should not agree to take a pay cut.

Previous Winners Of The Chief Award

1988 – Dan Rooney
1989 – Dwayne Woodruff
1990 – Merril Hoge
1991 – Gerald Williams
1992 – Tunch Ilkin
1993 – D.J. Johnson
1994 – Rod Woodson
1995 – Levon Kirkland
1996 – Chad Brown
1997 – Darren Perry
1998 – Jerome Bettis
1999 – Lee Flowers
2000 – Jerome Bettis –
2001 – Lee Flowers
2002 – Hines Ward
2003 – Mike Logan
2004 – Jerome Bettis
2005 – Alan Faneca
2006 – Brett Keisel & Deshea Townsend
2007 – Alan Faneca
2008 – Ryan Clark
2009 – James Farrior
2010 – Ben Roethlisberger
2011 – James Farrior
2012 – Casey Hampton
2013 – Ike Taylor

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!