2018 PLAYING RULE PROPOSAL NO. 2

Amend Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 (Completed or Intercepted Pass, pgs. 31-32) (new language
underlined, deleted language struck through):

ARTICLE 3. COMPLETED OR INTERCEPTED PASS. A player who makes a catch may

advance the ball. A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) in the

field of play, at the sideline, or in the end zone if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms, prior to the ball touching the ground; and

(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands;
and

(c) maintains-control-ofthe-bal after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, performs any act common to
the game (e.q., tuck the ball away, extend it towards or over the goal line or the line to gain,
take an additional step, turn upfield, or avoid or ward off an opponent), or he maintains control

of the ball Ionq enouqh to do so. unﬂLh&has%heJeaHJe#gm&gh%e%le&H%beeeme&mmep

Note 1: Jrf—a—player—has—een%ml—ef—the-bau—a—shght Movement of the ball does not automatlcally

result in loss of control.-w

Note 2: If a player, who satisfied (a) and (b), but has not satisfied (c), contacts the ground and
loses control of the ball, it is an incomplete pass if the ball hits the ground before he regains
control, or if he regains control out of bounds.

Note 3: A receiver is considered a player in a defenseless posture (See Rule 12, Section 2, Article
7) throughout the entire process of the catch and until the player is capable of avoiding or warding
off the impending contact of an opponent.




Hem 5 Simultaneous—Cateh-—Note 4: If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible

opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch
if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed
after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become
eligible to catch the loose ball.

Item-6. Carried Out of Beunds. Note 5: If a player, who is in possession of the ball, is held up
and carried out of bounds by an opponent before both feet or any part of his body other than his
hands touches the ground inbounds, it is a completed or intercepted pass. It is not necessary for
the player to maintain control of the ball when he lands out of bounds.

Submitted by Competition Committee
Effect: Changes standard for a catch.

Reason:  Simplification and clarification of the rule.

VOTE DISPOSITION
For 1 Adopted
Against 1 Rejected
Abstain 1 Tabled

Absent 1 Withdrawn




2018 PLAYING RULE PROPOSAL NO. 2

Amend Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 (Completed or Intercepted Pass, pgs. 31-32):

ARTICLE 3. COMPLETED OR INTERCEPTED PASS. A player who makes a catch may
advance the ball as a runner. A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the
defense) in the field of play, at the sideline, or in the end zone if a player, who is in bounds:
(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms, prior to the ball touching the ground;
and
(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his
hands; and
(c) after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, performs any act common to the game (e.g., tuck
the ball away, extend it towards or over the goal line or the line to gain, take an
additional step, turn upfield, or avoid or ward off an opponent), or he maintains control
of the ball long enough to do so.

Note 1: Movement of the ball does not automatically result in loss of control.

Note 2: If a player, who satisfied (a) and (b), but has not satisfied (c), contacts the ground
and loses control of the ball, it is an incomplete pass if the ball hits the ground before he
regains control, or if he regains control out of bounds.

Note 3: A receiver is considered a player in a defenseless posture (See Rule 12, Section 2,
Article 7) throughout the entire process of the catch and until the player is capable of
avoiding or warding off the impending contact of an opponent.

Note 4: If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players
retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains
control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control.

Note 5: If a player, who is in possession of the ball, is held up and carried out of bounds
by an opponent before both feet or any part of his body other than his hands touches the
ground inbounds, it is a completed or intercepted pass.



