Steelers News

Four Steelers Selected To AP All-Pro Team

T.J. Watt and Cameron Heyward

Four Pittsburgh Steelers have been voted as All-Pro selections for 2019. First team members include DE Cam Heyward, OLB TJ Watt, and FS Minkah Fitzpatrick. Rookie Diontae Johnson was honored as second-team All-Pro as a punt returner.

Watt, as you can tell, was also named to the AP’s 2nd-team as a linebacker, an incorrect designation and flaw in the voting system but an honor nonetheless. It’s only the fifth time in franchise history Pittsburgh’s had three defenders named to first-team All-Pro. That hasn’t been done since 1994 when Rod Woodson, Greg Lloyd, and Kevin Greene were all selected.

Fitzpatrick received the most votes, 27, while Heyward got 23 and Watt 22 on their way to being selected first-team.

It’s the second time Heyward has been named All-Pro, joining his 2017 season where he racked up 12 sacks. This year, he finished with nine but proved to be one of the NFL’s most consistent and physical defensive linemen along with being a leader in that locker room.

The rest of the group make All-Pro headlines for the first time. Watt was flat out one of football’s best players with 14.5 sacks and eight forced fumbles. Fitzpatrick tied for the team lead with five interceptions and was arguably the best mid-season acquisition any team made in 2019. And Johnson provided much-needed life to the punt return game, highlighted by his 85 yard touchdown against the Arizona Cardinals.

David DeCastro, Maurkice Pouncey, Terrell Edmunds (seriously), and Tyler Matakevich were other Steelers who received All-Pro votes but ultimately fell short of making first or second team.

AP Voting Results

Minkah Fitzpatrick – 27 votes (safety – 1st team)
Cam Heyward – 23 votes (interior linemen – 1st team)
TJ Watt – 22 votes (edge rusher – 1st team)
Diontae Johnson – 12 votes (punt returner – 2nd team)
TJ Watt – 11 votes (linebacker – 2nd team)
Maurkice Pouncey – 4 votes (center)
Minkah Fitzpatrick – 4 votes (defensive back)
David DeCastro – 1 vote (right guard)
Terrell Edmunds – 1 vote (safety)
Tyler Matakevich – 1 vote (special teams)

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!