Steelers News

Steelers DT Cameron Heyward Wins The Chief Award For 2019

Pittsburgh Steelers defensive tackle Cameron Heyward was named on Friday as the 2019 recipient of the annual Pro Football Writers’ “The Chief Award”, for his cooperation with local media.

“The Chief Award,” established in honor of Steelers’ founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and presented annually to the member of the Steelers’ organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media that Rooney did, is voted on by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America. It was first given out in 1988.

This is the second time that Heyward, who was selected by the Steelers in the first round of the 2011 NFL Draft out of Ohio State, has won “The Chief Award” as he also won it in 2014.

Heyward has been a great defensive captain and leader for the Steelers both on and off the field this season. He enters Week 17 having already registered 79 total tackles, eight sacks, 10 tackles for loss, 20 quarterback hits and five defensed passes. Heyward has also forced one fumble and recovered a fumble this season.

“The Chief Award” Winners
1988 Dan Rooney 2004 Jerome Bettis
1989 Dwayne Woodruff 2005 Alan Faneca
1990 Merril Hoge 2006 Brett Keisel
1991 Gerald Williams Deshea Townsend
1992 Tunch Ilkin 2007 Alan Faneca
1993 D.J. Johnson 2008 Ryan Clark
1994 Rod Woodson 2009 James Farrior
1995 Levon Kirkland 2010 Ben Roethlisberger
1996 Chad Brown 2011 James Farrior
1997 Darren Perry 2012 Casey Hampton
1998 Jerome Bettis 2013 Ike Taylor
1999 Lee Flowers 2014 Cameron Heyward
2000 Jerome Bettis 2015 Ramon Foster
Deshea Townsend 2016 Arthur Moats
2001 Lee Flowers 2017 David DeCastro
2002 Hines Ward 2018 Joe Haden
2003 Mike Logan 2019 Cameron Heyward
To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!