Steelers News

David DeCastro Recipient Of Steelers 2017 “The Chief Award”

You already know that Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster has been named the team’s 2017 Rookie of the Year and now we can pass along the news that guard David DeCastro has been given “The Chief Award” for 2017.

“The Chief Award” is one of two awards given annually by the Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America. The award, which was established in honor of Steelers’ founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr., and is presented annually to a member of the Steelers’ organization that best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media that he embodied.

DeCastro, who is in his sixth season with the Steelers after being drafted by them in the first round of the 2012 NFL Draft out of Stanford, was voted to the Pro Bowl again just a few weeks ago and is currently considered to be one of the league’s top guards.

DeCastro is the second offensive lineman to win The Chief Award in the last three years as fellow guard Ramon Foster received the honor in 2015. Last year Steelers outside linebacker Arthur Moats won the award.

“The Chief Award” Winners:
1988 Dan Rooney
1989 Dwayne Woodruff
1990 Merril Hoge
1991 Gerald Williams
1992 Tunch Ilkin
1993 D.J. Johnson
1994 Rod Woodson
1995 Levon Kirkland
1996 Chad Brown
1997 Darren Perry
1998 Jerome Bettis
1999 Lee Flowers
2000 Jerome Bettis
Deshea Townsend
2001 Lee Flowers
2002 Hines Ward
2003 Mike Logan
2004 Jerome Bettis
2005 Alan Faneca
2006 Brett Keisel
Deshea Townsend
2007 Alan Faneca
2008 Ryan Clark
2009 James Farrior
2010 Ben Roethlisberger
2011 James Farrior
2012 Casey Hampton
2013 Ike Taylor
2014 Cameron Heyward
2015 Ramon Foster
2016 Arthur Moats
2017 David DeCastro
To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!