Steelers News

Arthur Moats Recipient Of The 2016 “The Chief Award”

You already know Sean Davis has been named rookie of the year. But the Pittsburgh Steelers announced another award today, giving the 2016 “The Chief Award” to Arthur Moats.

The award is given annually to the player deemed the friendliest with the media in the honor and spirit of the founder of the team, Art Rooney Sr. 

Moats has had a friendly and charismatic attitude since joining the team in 2014. It’s the first time he’s been given The Chief’s Award. Ramon Foster won it last year and Cam Heyward in 2014, two others who immediately come to mind regarding post-game or weekly interviews.

He’s the first linebacker to win it since James Farrior, who did so in 2009 and 2011. The first player to receive the award was CB Dwayne Woodruff in 1989. Dan Rooney won it the year before, its inaugural season.

Moats’ impact has been in media circles but more importantly, in the community. His charitable organizations have been well-documented and he’s currently up for the NFL’s Man of the Year award.

On the football field, he racked up 3.5 sacks in 15 games, five starts, this season. He’s taken a recent backseat to a special teams-focused role but is a versatile and trusted piece to get thrown back into the lineup if he’s needed.

In his Steelers’ career, he has 11.5 sacks. That ranks tied for 3rd on the team over that span, trailing only James Harrison and Heyward while tied with Stephon Tuitt.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!