Steelers News

Steelers Bell, Brown Named Co-winners Of The NFL 101 AFC Offensive Player Of The Year Award

Pittsburgh Steelers running back Le’Veon Bell and wide receiver Antonio Brown continue to be recognized for their outstanding play in 2014 as both were named co-winners of the NFL 101 AFC Offensive Player of the Year award Tuesday.

This marks the first time in the  45-year history of the award that two players have been named co-winners and both Bell and Brown are very much deserving of the honor.

Bell, who was voted the Steelers team MVP this year, led the AFC in rushing with 1,361 yards. He also caught 83 passes for 854 yards, giving him an AFC-most 2,215 yards from scrimmage which is now a new franchise record.

Brown led the NFL in both receptions (129) and receiving yards (1,698) in 2014, and also scored 13 touchdowns.

Bell and Brown will be honored during the annual black-tie salute to pro football on Feb. 28 at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City.

Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt was named the NFL 101 AFC Defensive Player of the Year.

As far as the NFC winners go this year, Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named the NFC Offensive Player of the Year and Seattle Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman was named the NFC Defensive Player of the Year.

Former Steelers quarterback Kordell Stewart was the last Pittsburgh offensive player to win an NFL 101 award and that happened back in 2001 when he was named the AFC Offensive Player of the Year.

Defensive tackle Joe Greene (1972, 1974), cornerback Mel Blount (1975), linebacker Jack Lambert (1976), running back Barry Foster (1992),cornerback Rod Woodson (1993), linebacker Greg Lloyd (1994), safety Carnell Lake (1997), linebacker James Harrison (2008) and safety Troy Polamalu (2010) also have won NFL 101 awards as member of the Steelers.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!