Steelers News

Steelers Rookie WR Martavis Bryant Wins 2014 Joe Greene Great Performance Award

Wide receiver Martavis Bryant, the Pittsburgh Steelers fourth round draft choice this year, was selected Friday as the “Joe Greene Great Performance Award” winner for 2014 by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America. The award is given annually to the team’s outstanding rookie.

Bryant’s season got off to a slow start as he was inactive for the first six games of the year. When he finally did start dressing for games, the Clemson product made an immediate impact and he’s played in every game since.

Heading into the final week of the season, Bryant has registered 25 catches for 528 yards and seven touchdowns. Six of those seven scores came in his first four NFL games and he’s just the eighth rookie in team history to reach 500 receiving yards.

With a touchdown catch Sunday night, Bryant will become the second Steelers rookie in team history to post 8 in his first campaign and first since 1984 (Louis Lipps, 9). He also needs 77 receiving yards to become the seventh rookie in team history to record 600 in his first season.

Bryant is the first wide receiver to win the Joe Greene award since Mike Wallace won it back in 2009.

Joe Greene Great Performance Award” Winners:
1984 WR Louis Lipps
1985 P Harry Newsome
1986 LB Anthony Henton
1987 CB Delton Hall
1988 RB Warren Williams
1989 SS Carnell Lake
1990 TE Eric Green
1991 TE Adrian Cooper
1992 FS Darren Perry
1993 LB Chad Brown
1994 RB Bam Morris
1995 QB Kordell Stewart
1996 FB Jon Witman
1997 CB Chad Scott
1998 OG Alan Faneca
1999 WR Troy Edwards
2000 FB Dan Kreider
2001 LB Kendrell Bell
2002 OG Kendall Simmons
2003 S Troy Polamalu
2004 QB Ben Roethlisberger
2005 TE Heath Miller
2006 WR Santonio Holmes
2007 P Daniel Sepulveda
2008 LB Patrick Bailey
2009 WR Mike Wallace
2010 C Maurkice Pouncey
2011 OT Marcus Gilbert
2012 OT Mike Adams
2013 RB Le’Veon Bell
2014 WR Martavis Bryant
To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!