Steelers News

Steelers WR Antonio Brown Didn’t Know Post Touchdown Celebration Rules

Thanks to comments made Monday morning by Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Antonio Brown, we can now see a few areas where head coach Mike Tomlin might want to start coaching better if he wants the pre and post snap penalties to start decreasing following the 27-24 loss Sunday to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

According to Will Graves of the Associated Press, Brown said he wasn’t aware that going to the ground during celebration was illegal.

What? How does he not already know this?

Brown was penalized 15 yards for unsportsmanlike conduct for falling to the ground during his post-touchdown celebration with 20 seconds left in the first quarter. The 15 yards was accessed on the ensuing kickoff and the result of that was a 23-yard kickoff return by Buccaneers wide receiver Solomon Patton to the Tampa Bay 31-yard-line.

Thankfully those extra yards didn’t result in a Buccaneers score during that drive, but that’s beside the point.

Tomlin might want to start his team meetings off this week by going over the rules when it comes to all penalties. Judging by Brown’s comments, he can’t assume that all of them know them.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!