Former Steelers Bettis, Dawson, Greene & Butler Named Pro Football Hall Of Fame Finalists

Former Pittsburgh Steelers running back Jerome Bettis, cornerback Jack Butler, center Dermontti Dawson and linebacker Kevin Greene are among the 17 finalists to be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame when the Hall’s Selection Committee meets in Indianapolis on Saturday, Feb. 4.

Bettis was a six-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro and he played for the Steelers from 1996 through the end of the 2005 season. He retired after the Steelers won Super Bowl XL in 2006. His 13,662 career rushing yards ranks sixth in NFL history.

Dawson was a seven-time Pro Bowler and six-time All-Pro and played for the Steelers from 1988-2000. He played in 170 consecutive games for the Steelers and was named to the NFL\’s 1990s All-Decade Team.

Greene played for the Steelers from 1993-95 and finished with 160 sacks in his 15-year NFL career for four NFL teams.

Butler was a four-time Pro Bowl player in the 1950s and was named one of the 33 greatest Steelers of all-time in 2008.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee will decide in Indianapolis on Feb. 4 which of the candidates will be elected to the Hall of Fame. A maximum of five modern-era candidates can be selected, and the committee can choose to elect one or both of the Senior\’s Committee nominees.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s 17 finalists (15 modern-era and two senior nominees)

Jerome Bettis – Running Back – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Tim Brown – Wide Receiver/Kick Returner – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Jack Butler* – Cornerback – 1951-59 Pittsburgh Steelers

Cris Carter – Wide Receiver – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Dermontti Dawson – Center – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

Edward DeBartolo, Jr. – Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Chris Doleman – Defensive End/Linebacker – 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Greene – Linebacker/Defensive End – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley – Defensive End/Linebacker – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Cortez Kennedy – Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks

Curtis Martin – Running Back – 1995-97 New England Patriots, 1998-2005 New York Jets

Bill Parcells – Coach – 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-96 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys

Andre Reed – Wide Receiver – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Willie Roaf – Tackle – 1993-2001 New Orleans Saints, 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs

Will Shields – Guard – 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Dick Stanfel* – Guard – 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins

Aeneas Williams – Cornerback/Safety – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!