Gilbert Named Steelers Rookie Of The Year, Farrior Wins Chief Award

The Pittsburgh Steelers announced today that rookie right tackle Marcus Gilbert was voted the teams 2011 Rookie of the Year and inside linebacker James Farrior won the Chief Award for his cooperation with the local media.

Gilbert was drafted by the Steelers in the second round this past April out of Florida and started 13 games at right tackle this season. Gilbert was thrust into action as a starter in week 2 against the Seattle Seahawks after starter Willie Colon was lost for the season in the opening game against the Baltimore Ravens with a torn right triceps. Center Maurkice Pouncey won the award last year.

Farrior, won the award from the Steelers that is presented annually to the player who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the Pittsburgh media, which was established in honor of Steelers founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and is voted on by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America. It is the second time Farrior has won the award, as he also won it in 2009. Quarterback Ben Roethlisberger won the award last year.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!