Max Starks Voted Winner Of Steelers 2011 Ed Block Courage Award

The Steelers players have voted left tackle Max Starks the team winner of the 2011 Ed Block Courage Award according to Starks himself on Twitter.

The award honors one player from each of the NFL teams who, in the eyes of his teammates, best exemplifies and displays courage. The award is named in memory of Ed Block, a former trainer of the Baltimore Colts and it is administered by the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation. That foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies who provide for the care and treatment of abused children.

Starks was re-signed by the Steelers just a few weeks ago after being released prior to the start of training camp. He has battled back from a neck injury suffered last season and also dropped quite a bit of weight since his release. The Steelers 2010 winner of the award was Nick Eason, who is now with the Cardinals.

To learn more about the award, please visit Ed Block Courage Award Foundation website. Congratulations to Max, he deserves it.

To Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!